Books Home - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesBiographies - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesBusiness - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesChildrens - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesComputers - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesCooking - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesEntertainment - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and Audiocassettes
Health - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesHome & Garden - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesMystery & Thrillers - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesNonfiction - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesReligion - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesRomance - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesScienceTravel - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and Audiocassettes

Laugh Riot

Do you feel funny? Try a dose of humor books!

 
1.
Our Dumb Century : The Onion Presents 100 Years of Headlines from America's Finest News Source
by The Onion, et al

Three Rivers Pr
Paperback - 164 pages
(April 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Every Wednesday, work at Amazon.com--along with just about every other company connected to the fantastical "information superhighway" invented by Vice President Al Gore and actress Hedy Lamarr--grinds to a halt as employees hasten to read the latest issue of The Onion, America's most popular... Read more

 


2.
The Headless Bust : A Melancholy Meditation on the False Millennium
by Edward Gorey

Harcourt Brace
Hardcover - 64 pages
(October 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
With The Headless Bust, Edmund Gravel and the Bahum Bug from Gorey's "Dispirited and Distasteful" Christmas tale, The Haunted Tea-Cosy, have returned to usher in the New Year. The story, told in verse, takes up just after Edmund's riotous party. He and the Bug are whisked off to a faraway village... Read more

 


3.
Sincerely, Andy Rooney
by Andy Rooney, Andrew A. Rooney

Public Affairs
Hardcover - 320 pages
1 edition (November 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Cantankerous cultural icon Andy Rooney has come up with a twist on a concept for his latest book: instead of printing letters that people have written to him, he has collected his own responses, prefaced with occasional editorial notes to get the reader up to speed. All together, they make an... Read more

 


4.
Naked Pictures of Famous People
by Jon Stewart

Rob Weisbach Book
Hardcover - 159 pages
(October 1998)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Sometimes it seems like every standup comedian worth his or her salt just has to do the book thing, and you might feel that yet another warmed-over stage routine is the last thing you need taking up valuable bookshelf space. Jon Stewart's book will come as an extremely pleasant surprise. He eschews... Read more

 


5.
Ufos, JFK and Elvis : Conspiracies You Don't Have to Be Crazy to Believe
by Richard Belzer

Ballantine Books (T)
Hardcover - 228 pages
1 Ed edition (May 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Best known as Detective John Munch on the hit TV series Homicide, Richard Belzer is also an accomplished standup comedian with a knack for political commentary in the tradition of Mort Sahl and Dick Gregory. In UFOs, JFK, and Elvis, he applies his analytic powers to two of the most controversial... Read more

 


6. See Picture
See picture
Sein Language
by Jerry Seinfeld

Bantam Books
Paperback - 180 pages
Reissue edition (January 1, 1995)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Seinlanguage could easily be subtitled The World According to Jerry. First published in 1993, when Seinfeld the sitcom was establishing itself as the funniest half-hour on television, this is a collection of Jerry's musings on everything from relationships to shushing in movie theatres.... Read more

 


7. See Picture
See picture
Big Trouble
by Dave Barry

Putnam Pub Group (T)
Hardcover - 255 pages
(September 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Dave Barry, the only newsman to win a Pulitzer for exemplary use of words like booger, will please humor and crime-fiction fans alike with this racy debut novel. The scene is Miami. In ritzy Coconut Grove, the teen son of Eliot, a newsman turned adman, sneaks up to spritz a cute girl with a... Read more

 


8. See Picture
See picture
Little Green Men
by Christopher Buckley

Random House
Hardcover - 300 pages
(April 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
In Christopher Buckley's hilarious fourth novel, Washington, D.C., is naturally enough a place of sex, lies, and videotape. Unfortunately for Little Green Men's pundit protagonist, John Oliver Banion, it is also the HQ of Majestic Twelve, a very, very covert government project. Since "that golden... Read more

 


9. See Picture
See picture
Feel This Book : An Essential Guide to Self-Empowerment, Spiritual Supremacy, and Sexual Satisfaction
by Janeane Garofalo, Ben Stiller (Preface)

Ballantine Books (T)
Hardcover - 215 pages
(April 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
3 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
A warning to readers: though Ben Stiller (Flirting with Disaster) and Janeane Garofalo (The Truth About Cats and Dogs) used to be a couple, do not confuse their advice book with Chicken Soup for the Couple's Soul. This is more of a cross between James Thurber and E.B. White's satirical Is Sex... Read more

 


10. See Picture
See picture
Funny Ladies
by Stephen M. Silverman

Harry N Abrams
Hardcover - 160 pages
(October 1999)


Click here for more info

Amazon.com
Funny Ladies is a terrific look at, you guessed it, funny women ranging from radio and silent film stars right up through Absolutely Fabulous and Janeane Garofalo. Each subject gets a brief bio and a discussion of her unique performance style and career highlights. (Be sure to keep a pad and pencil... Read more

 



Top of Page


Browse books by interest:

Art Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Entertainment Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Professional Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Audiobooks Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Health Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Reference Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Biographies Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs History Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Religion Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Business Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Home Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Romance Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Childrens Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Literature Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Science Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Christian Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Mystery Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Science Fiction Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Computers Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Nonfiction Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Travel Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Cooking Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Parenting Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs