Books Home - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesBiographies - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesBusiness - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesChildrens - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesComputers - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesCooking - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesEntertainment - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and Audiocassettes
Health - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesHome & Garden - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesMystery & Thrillers - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesNonfiction - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesReligion - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesRomance - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and AudiocassettesScienceTravel - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audio CDs and Audiocassettes

As Seen on TV

Make the transition from the boob tube to books smoothly--with these titles about television and its array of stars!

 
1.
Ally McBeal: The Official Guide
by Tim Appelo, David E. Kelley (Introduction)

Harper Entertainment
Paperback - 208 pages
(October 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
3.5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
What are the perils of an asparagus diet? What is the Cool Cup supposed to cool? And what on earth does The Music Man have to do with it all? Die-hard Ally McBeal fans will find the answers to these questions and more in Ally McBeal: The Official Guide. The book is packed with photos, quotes,... Read more

 


2.
Wake Up, I'm Fat!
by Camryn Manheim, Rosie O'Donnell

Broadway Books
Hardcover - 289 pages
(June 1999)
(May 11, 1999)

Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
You already know Camryn Manheim can act. She won the Emmy Award as the don't-mess-with-me attorney Ellenor Frutt on The Practice. Manheim made the ceremony itself entertaining by hoisting her trophy and hollering, "This is for all the fat girls!"

But can she write? Yes. This memoir is by turns funny... Read more

 


3.
Sincerely, Andy Rooney
by Andy Rooney, Andrew A. Rooney

Public Affairs
Hardcover - 320 pages
1 edition (November 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Cantankerous cultural icon Andy Rooney has come up with a twist on a concept for his latest book: instead of printing letters that people have written to him, he has collected his own responses, prefaced with occasional editorial notes to get the reader up to speed. All together, they make an... Read more

 


4.
The Simpsons Forever! : A Complete Guide to Our Favorite Family Continued
by Matt Groening, Scott M. Gimple (Editor)

Harperperennial Library
Paperback - 96 pages
(December 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Viewers who acknowledge The Simpsons as one of the best shows ever to hit television are doubtless already proud owners of The Simpsons: A Complete Guide to Our Favorite Family. But since the show is still in production, that guide is no longer complete. And can you really live a second longer... Read more

 


5.
Sein Language
by Jerry Seinfeld

Bantam Books
Paperback - 180 pages
Reissue edition (January 1, 1995)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Seinlanguage could easily be subtitled The World According to Jerry. First published in 1993, when Seinfeld the sitcom was establishing itself as the funniest half-hour on television, this is a collection of Jerry's musings on everything from relationships to shushing in movie theatres.... Read more

 


6. See Picture
See picture
Ufos, JFK and Elvis : Conspiracies You Don't Have to Be Crazy to Believe
by Richard Belzer

Ballantine Books (T)
Hardcover - 228 pages
1 Ed edition (May 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Best known as Detective John Munch on the hit TV series Homicide, Richard Belzer is also an accomplished standup comedian with a knack for political commentary in the tradition of Mort Sahl and Dick Gregory. In UFOs, JFK, and Elvis, he applies his analytic powers to two of the most controversial... Read more

 


7. See Picture
See picture
Love, Ellen : A Mother/Daughter Journey
by Betty Degeneres

Rob Weisbach Book
Hardcover - 366 pages
(April 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
More than 20 years have passed since Ellen DeGeneres came out to her mother on a beach in Mississippi. Stunned, Betty DeGeneres could only think of her own disappointed expectations. As she put her arms around her daughter, she was struck by the realization that she would never see Ellen's picture... Read more

 


8. See Picture
See picture
Monty Python Speaks
by David Morgan(Editor)

HARPE
Paperback - 352 pages
(June 1999)
(June 8, 1999)

Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
Sensibly eschewing any attempt to emulate the inspired lunacy of Monty Python's Flying Circus, this excellent oral history offers instead a straightforward but fascinating peek behind the scenes. Extensive interviews with the team of madmen who created the legendary British television series and... Read more

 


9. See Picture
See picture
The Real Science Behind the X Files: Microbes, Meteorites, and Mutants
by Anne Elizabeth Simon

Simon & Schuster
Hardcover - 256 pages
(October 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
In The X-Files episode "The Erlenmeyer Flask," FBI agent Dana Scully shows some bacteria to microbiologist Anne Carpenter, who pronounces them extraterrestrial: containing different DNA nucleotides than those found in Earthly organisms. But like the hapless redshirts of Star Trek, scientists who... Read more

 


10. See Picture
See picture
Get a Life!
by William Shatner, Chris Kreski (Contributor)

Pocket Books
Hardcover - 320 pages
(May 1999)


Click here for more info
Avg. Customer Review:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Amazon.com
For years, William Shatner's attitude toward Star Trek conventions was strictly professional: he'd typically fly in the day of his appearance, go straight from the airport to the stage, and then leave as quickly as possible. But when he went on an extensive tour to promote Generations, he became... Read more

 



Top of Page


Browse books by interest:

Art Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Entertainment Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Professional Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Audiobooks Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Health Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Reference Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Biographies Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs History Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Religion Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Business Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Home Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Romance Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Childrens Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Literature Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Science Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Christian Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Mystery Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Science Fiction Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Computers Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Nonfiction Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Travel Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs
Cooking Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs Parenting Books - Hardcover, Paperback, Large Print, Audiocassettes, Audio CDs